Coffee Cup Cozy Tutorial

Coffee sleeve
Coffee cup cozy
Coffee cup cozy tutorial
Coffee cup cozy

I decided a while back that I wanted to start a blog but wasn’t sure where I wanted to take it or what I wanted to blog about. I was worried that people wouldn’t be interested or that I wouldn’t be able to connect with people and blog about things they wanted to read about.

I decided to take the plunge and just go for it thinking, what the hell, what have I got to lose?!? I’m going to blog about what I love and show the world my passion for all types of crafts. I will have success stories to share, and I most certainly will share my failures and misadventures because they are pretty funny!

I have been a coffee adict since high school, which was a really, really long time ago. I can’t recall when I started seeing these cardboard sleeves that appeared on my cup every time I visited my favorite Seatle-based coffee shop. I decided one day that they were really boring and ugly and that they were a wast of tree pulp, blah, blah, blah.

At the time, I was in to knitting and crochet, so I embarked on a yarn adventure and made, like, a handful of cup sweaters in different colors. I still wasn’t satisfied though. I wanted something that was the same shape and size as the little cardboard ones that plainly adorned every cup of coffee I bought.

So, I brought one home with me one day. I took it apart at the glued end and thought, why don’t I use this to make a pattern for my own coffee sleeve! YAY! Moment of clarity, which doesn’t happen often…

I set out to do just that and I’m here to share the project with you so you can make your own, super cute and stylish coffee sleeve, and people will be jealous. 

Now we’re going to get to a really fun tutorial!!!

some stuff you'll need
some stuff you’ll need

First, your going to need some stuff. Here’s a list:

  •  Outer fabric and a lining fabric (quilting cottons work best and are affordable) stay away from really bulky or super stretchy fabrics
  •  Matching thread
  •  Fusible fleece
  •  Medium weight fusible interfacing
  •  Clear Ruler/Measuring tape
  •  Scotch tape or masking tape (optional, but cool to have for this project)
  •  Elastic band or cord elastic for button band
  •  A one inch button
  • Fabric Marker or chalk
  • Chopstick or something a little pointy for turning corners (nothing sharp that would pierce the fabric)
  • Printed patern, or you can make your own to your chosen dimensions click here for my fancy freehand pattern
  • Scissors and/or rotary cutter, self healing mat

You’re going to be working with a 1/4 inch seam allowance.

IMG_0410

For the pattern, I simply placed the open, cardboard sleeve flat on a piece of paper. I traced around, to the exact dimensions,  to make the fusible fleece pattern piece. For the outer and lining fabric pattern, I used a ruler, and going all the way around, measured and marked 1/4 inch away and it made a larger pattern (see photo above). Your fleece pieces are going to be smaller so that your seems are nice and smooth and flat. Now, remember the glued edges of the sleeve? You’ll want to mark where you want the button to be on the end that was on the inside of the glued edge. The elastic will go on the end that was on the outside. Once you’ve opened up the sleeve, you will see that one end is slightly more slanted than the other end. The picture below of the fusible fleece and interfacing shows this clearly.

IMG_0424Place your main outer fabric and lining fabric with right sides facing. Pin your pattern on top and cut out the pieces. Mark your fabric so you know where your elastic will go and marking the end that you’ll leave open for turning later.

IMG_0430Now to cut your fleece and interfacing. Place the interfacing and fleece with the glue sides facing – the fleece should be on top. Because the pieces are an odd shape, it can get tricky. When I first made the pattern, I cut the pieces out backwards and they didn’t go together, so I’m trying to save you from the same duh-moment. Pin your interfacing pattern down and cut out the pieces. You’ll notice that the interfacing and fleece are cut smaller than the outer fabric and lining to reduce bulk at the seams which will give you nice, sharp, crisp edges and points!

IMG_0431Following the manufacturer’s instructions, center and then fuse the fleece and interfacing to the wrong side of the outer fabric and  lining fabric. It doesn’t matter which piece the fleece and interfacing are fused to, as long as they fit properly.

IMG_0433Cut a 3 inch long or longer piece of elastic (I used an elastic hair band) and fold it in half to make a loop. Here’s where your tape will come in handy – – tape the ends together, close to the ends then tape them down to your fabric where indicated on the pattern. This will securely hold the elastic ends together and firmly placed on the fabric.

IMG_0434Sew the elastic down using a 1/8 inch seam allowance to keep it in place. You want to have the elastic about 1 1/2 inches from the edge – see pic above with the ruler. Remove tape from the ends, but leave the tape on the loop end so that it remains straight.

IMG_0444Now it’s time to sew this baby together! Leaving a 1/4 inch seam allowance, sew pieces (back stitch one or two stitches befor starting to sew), right sides together, leaving a marked end of the inside flap (hopefully you can see where I left it above) open so you can turn the sleeve right side out. (The inside flap is the side where you’ll place the button after you’ve sewn it together and turned it right side out.)

IMG_0442When you get to the corners, stop 1/4 inch from the end and, with the needle down, lift the pressor foot and pivot the fabric to continue down the next side. This makes a nice, sharp corner. Back stitch when you get to the opening for turning.

IMG_0446Gently turn the sleeve rightside out, using your corner or turning tool to gently poke out the corners. Now, press it to make the edges look nice, turning the open ends under and even with the rest of the seams.

IMG_0447Once your sleeve is neatly pressed, top stitch as close to the edge as you can get, maybe a scant 1/8 of an inch all the way around the sleeve. Take an empty coffee cup or similarly sized glass or cup and wrapping the sleeve around, mark where you would like your button. Hand stitch the button on the sleeve and you’re done! A professional looking coffee sleeve that will turn heads every where you go! Make them for friends, as teacher gifts etc.

GZBE4688

I hope you have enjoyed my first tutorial! Please let me know if you have any questions and I would love to see your projects made from this tutorial!

You may not sell my pattern. I want to share this as a free pattern and project for all to enjoy. You MAY make these coffee sleeves and sell them at craft fairs or on line such as your Etsy shop but I ask that you please link it to my pattern and give me credit for the work I’ve put into this tutorial. You may NOT sell them mass produced or for commercial purposes.

Leave a Reply

